SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

  • SCBWI supports justice for Black people everywhere and we encourage our members to donate to organizations fighting longstanding racial injustice. Go HERE for a list of organizations and resources.
  • Enter our Summertime Mid Atlantic SCBWI Banner Art Contest! A panel of esteemed illustrators from our region will determine the winners, announced during the 2020 Mid Atlantic Annual Fall Conference. The first place winning art will grace the SCBWI Mid Atlantic landing webpage with the winner receiving one free year of membership! Design requirements: 3300x825 pixels, at 300 dpi (high-resolution) JPG, 11in by 2.75in. Email submissions as attachments to: midatlantichighlighter@gmail.com Must be received by August 15.
  • For more information and to register for The Story Behind Their Stories webinar with Lesa Cline-Ransome on September 15, please see the following: https://midatlantic.scbwi.org/events/the-story-behind-their-stories-with-lesa-cline-ransom/  
  • VIRTUAL BOOK LAUNCH PARTY! Celebrating May & June releases of Mid-Atlantic SCBWI members   Elle Cosimano, author HarperTeen, June 2020 One cold, crisp night, Jack Sommers was faced with a choice—live forever according to the ancient, magical rules of Gaia, or die. Jack chose to live, and in exchange, he became a Winter—an immortal physical embodiment of the season on Earth. Every year, he must hunt the Season who comes before him. Summer kills Spring. Autumn kills Summer. Winter kills Autumn. And Spring kills Winter. Jack and Fleur, a Winter and a Spring, fall for each other against all odds. To be together, they’ll have to escape the cycle that’s been forcing them apart. But their creator won’t let them go without a fight. For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Laini Taylor, a perfect storm lies ahead in this riveting fantasy duology opener from award-winning author Elle Cosimano. www.ellecosimano.com   “Enticing and thrilling, Seasons of the Storm is flawless and addictive.” –Jennifer L. Armentrout, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author “I couldn’t read this book fast enough–captivating on every level.” –Megan Shepherd, New York Times Bestselling Author “A solid urban fantasy with a novel premise . . . Cosimano tells a story of the bonds of friendship and the power of hope for the future.” –Kirkus “Fans of Holly Black and April Genevieve Tucholke will hope that their time with these characters is not yet up.” –Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books “This is an enjoyably edgy novel with a great premise, filled with adventure, loss, love and suspense.” –School Library Journal Purchase your copy HERE.   Sue Fliess, author Simona Sanfilippo, illustrator Sky Pony Press, June 2020 Mermaids are rarely seen, and even more rarely met. But, if you gather some natural craft supplies--seashells, grass, pieces of coral, driftwood, and sea glass--you might just get to befriend one! If you look closely, you just might discover a mermaid out in the waves at the edge of the shore. And if you do, you'll need to be ready! By being observant, resourceful, and friendly, you can make a beautiful crown from natural beach materials that will show your new mermaid friend you truly care, and then you'll be taken on an incredible adventure through the ocean's depths, past ancient shipwrecks, and across the waves. You just might get to experience what it's like to be a mermaid yourself, too! Sue’s virtual summer events are in the works! Visit suefliess.com/calendar. More details posted soon. Purchase your copy HERE.   June Smalls, author Yumi Shimokawara, author Familius May 2020 Inspiring text and striking illustrations follow the empowering journey of an elephant matriarch as she leads her family through the wilds of Africa. With facts about African elephants on every spread and a message that will encourage young girls to be the trailblazers of their generation, She Leads offers an incredible story and an unforgettable tribute to the strength of a true leader.
ABOUT OUR REGION

(Banner art by Christiana Sandoval Woodard)

Welcome! We hope to see you at one of our events: regional get-togethers, illustrators’ sketchcrawl, fall conference, PAL programs, and craft-focused workshops. (Details under the “Events” tab)

EVENTS CALENDAR
   

Mark your calendars!

Annual Fall Conference:  

Children's Publishing in 2020

 

October 23 - 24, 2020 

 

Keynote address

by Meg Medina

(Holiday Inn Dulles; Sterling, VA)