SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

  • VIRTUAL BOOK LAUNCH PARTY! Celebrating May & June releases of Mid-Atlantic SCBWI members   Elle Cosimano, author HarperTeen, June 2020 One cold, crisp night, Jack Sommers was faced with a choice—live forever according to the ancient, magical rules of Gaia, or die. Jack chose to live, and in exchange, he became a Winter—an immortal physical embodiment of the season on Earth. Every year, he must hunt the Season who comes before him. Summer kills Spring. Autumn kills Summer. Winter kills Autumn. And Spring kills Winter. Jack and Fleur, a Winter and a Spring, fall for each other against all odds. To be together, they’ll have to escape the cycle that’s been forcing them apart. But their creator won’t let them go without a fight. For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Laini Taylor, a perfect storm lies ahead in this riveting fantasy duology opener from award-winning author Elle Cosimano. www.ellecosimano.com   “Enticing and thrilling, Seasons of the Storm is flawless and addictive.” –Jennifer L. Armentrout, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author “I couldn’t read this book fast enough–captivating on every level.” –Megan Shepherd, New York Times Bestselling Author “A solid urban fantasy with a novel premise . . . Cosimano tells a story of the bonds of friendship and the power of hope for the future.” –Kirkus “Fans of Holly Black and April Genevieve Tucholke will hope that their time with these characters is not yet up.” –Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books “This is an enjoyably edgy novel with a great premise, filled with adventure, loss, love and suspense.” –School Library Journal Purchase your copy HERE.   Sue Fliess, author Simona Sanfilippo, illustrator Sky Pony Press, June 2020 Mermaids are rarely seen, and even more rarely met. But, if you gather some natural craft supplies--seashells, grass, pieces of coral, driftwood, and sea glass--you might just get to befriend one! If you look closely, you just might discover a mermaid out in the waves at the edge of the shore. And if you do, you'll need to be ready! By being observant, resourceful, and friendly, you can make a beautiful crown from natural beach materials that will show your new mermaid friend you truly care, and then you'll be taken on an incredible adventure through the ocean's depths, past ancient shipwrecks, and across the waves. You just might get to experience what it's like to be a mermaid yourself, too! Sue’s virtual summer events are in the works! Visit suefliess.com/calendar. More details posted soon. Purchase your copy HERE.   June Smalls, author Yumi Shimokawara, author Familius May 2020 Inspiring text and striking illustrations follow the empowering journey of an elephant matriarch as she leads her family through the wilds of Africa. With facts about African elephants on every spread and a message that will encourage young girls to be the trailblazers of their generation, She Leads offers an incredible story and an unforgettable tribute to the strength of a true leader.
  • SCBWI supports justice for Black people everywhere and we encourage our members to donate to organizations fighting longstanding racial injustice. Go HERE for a list of organizations and resources.
  • Madelyn Rosenberg, author Wendy Wan-Long Shang, author Scholastic Press, July 2020 Lauren and her best friend, Tara, have always done absolutely everything together. So when they don't have any classes together in sixth grade, it's disastrous. The solution? Trying out for the school play. Lauren, who loves to sing, wonders if maybe, just maybe, she will be the star instead of Tara this time. But when the show is cast, Lauren lands in the ensemble, while Tara scores the lead role. Their teacher explains: Lauren just doesn't look the part of the all-American girl. What audience would believe that she, half-Jewish, half-Chinese Lauren, was the everygirl star from Pleasant Valley, USA? From amidst the ensemble, Lauren tries to support her best friend. But when she can't bring herself to sing anymore, her spot in the play and her friendship are in jeopardy. With the help of a button-making business, the music of Patsy Cline, and her two bickering grandmothers, can Lauren find her voice again? “A nearly pitch-perfect middle school exploration of race and friendship.” Kirkus Fun-facts interview on YAYOMG HERE. A book-inspired playlist on OOM, a Scholastic blog, HERE. Book trailer HERE. Purchase your copy HERE.   Hannah Barnaby, author Anoosha Syed, illustrator Holt Books for Young Readers, July 2020 When Monster (who lives under the bed) meets Boy (who sleeps in the bed), Boy starts to scream—and Monster promptly swallows him. It's the beginning of a beautiful friendship! Told with a warm, cozy voice, the story is brought to life with adorable two-color illustrations. Filled with adventure and humor, this chapter book is perfect for sharing with kids just aging out of picture books and for newly independent readers. “No need to be afraid of monsters after reading this sweet and unusual friendship story.
ABOUT OUR REGION

(Banner art by Christiana Sandoval Woodard)

Welcome! We hope to see you at one of our events: regional get-togethers, illustrators’ sketchcrawl, fall conference, PAL programs, and craft-focused workshops. (Details under the “Events” tab)

EVENTS CALENDAR
   

Mark your calendars for our first ever

VIRTUAL fall conference!

Annual Fall Conference:  

Children's Publishing in 2020

 

October 23 - 24, 2020 

 

Keynote address

by Meg Medina